This is my blog. A place for me to share what inspires me, tell you about our tiny home journey, and maybe go a little crazy sometimes… Because, if you can’t go bonkers on the internet where a bunch of strangers will read about it, then what’s the point?

I am, by nature, fairly particular/peculiar and a little bit anxious. I’m not usually one to write about how I’m feeling, or how something changed the way my day went. I’m certainly not the type of woman to tell the world what’s going on in my whirlwind thoughts and dreams. However, I have decided that it’s time for me to step out of my comfort zone and share what’s going on in my life with you, a whole bunch of strangers.

I will begin by telling you a little bit about myself. I am a first-time mama living on Vancouver Island in beautiful British Columbia. I have an amazing fiancée who treats me well, and a gorgeous baby boy who has captured my heart and soul. I am currently a stay-at-home mom and I am so grateful for the hard work my man does to take care of our little family. Every day is a chance to learn something new about myself, life, or anything else that comes along. Being a mother has taught me that there is no time to dwell on anything but the current moment in time and space that I occupy right NOW.

That being said, I am going to tell you about our little family’s journey toward designing, building, and living in a tiny home. This is our dream, and I hold it close to my heart.

We have only just begun our planning process and we are beginning to draw up a budget and some rough sketches for our dream tiny home. A lot of research has already been done, but I know there will never be an end to the learning process, and I am sure myriad challenges are waiting on the sidelines to jump out and stir us up. So far, we are at square one.

This is the step in the process where you get serious, sit down with a cup of tea, and write out your reasons for wanting to make such a big change. Asking and answering these questions is a big challenge for some people, and for others it is a very simple question with a very easy answer. For us, the biggest driving force in our desire for tiny living is FREEDOM. Freedom from debt, freedom from things, freedom from the unrealistic expectations we have placed on ourselves. The idea of living in a home that we own is spectacular, but it isn’t all that great when we start to think about the costs of such a lifestyle. Right now, we are living in an affordable apartment where we are able to save up some extra money to begin building our tiny home. It isn’t, however, ours. We can’t change anything about it, and we are paying rent every month to someone we don’t even know. What we really want to be doing is living in a home that we completely own, without going into debt in order to make that happen. Is that too much to ask? I don’t think so. As a result of this driving force of freedom, we have landed on the dream of living in a tiny home on wheels. Why stay in one place when you can choose where you want to call home, and have the option of changing your mind in a month?

The possibilities are endless.

So here I am, sitting in front of a computer while dreams and ideas swirl around in my head, trying to sort it all out so I don’t go crazy and forget everything. The world likes to joke about “pregnancy brain”, but it’s nothing compared to “Mom brain”. Good lord do I ever feel like I’ve gone completely nuts sometimes. Where did I put that book that’s sitting RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME? Welcome to my blog. It might not make a lick of sense sometimes, but I’m hoping it will at least be entertaining!

And so we begin…

One thought on “And so we begin…

Leave a comment